Goal Setting, health, Uncategorized

Health and Fitness Goals

A little sketchnotefor the post

Part 4 of the Level 10 Life Series:

I used to be in great shape.  Then, laziness and too much food happened.  Well, other things happened as well, like a health crisis or three.  Now, I’m able to concentrate on being healthy again and getting back in shape.

For me, being in shape doesn’t mean being a size 0.  It means cardiovascular health, flexibility, balance, and strength (who doesn’t like being able to open the olive jar?).  I took a cold, hard look at where I’m at nutritionally, as well.  I had a full panel of blood tests run (health insurance is wonderful).

Luckily, my cholesterol (HDL, LDL and total cholesterol) is a very nice number.  So are my triglycerides.  My blood sugar (A1C) levels aren’t too shabby either.  I feel like I could improve in both areas, but that’s because I like beating my marathon running, vegetarian brother in the HDL department.  I eat fast food once in a blue moon and eat pretty healthy when going out.  To me, improving my nutrition isn’t about starvation or withholding my favorite dessert.  It’s about what can I add to my diet or substitute for yummy, but healthier alternatives.  One thing I noticed is that I don’t eat enough beans (legumes/pulses).  So, I decided to continue my

One thing I noticed is that I don’t eat enough beans (legumes/pulses).  So, I decided to continue my Pulse Pledge and plan to get to the point where I have a serving of pulses each day.  One of my favorite recipes is a turkey burger where navy beans are incorporated into the meat mixture.  You can do the same thing with black beans and ground beef.

I also noticed that I don’t get enough cruciferous, leafy greens.  So, I plan to have a nice big salad daily.  I’ll probably add beans.  I know that I’ll add carrots, tomatoes, bagged broccoli slaw mix (no mayo for me), olives, and other raw veggies.  I am not a fan of dressing, so my go to is either a flavored vinegar or pico de gallo.  I’m also going to have homemade, vegan soup at least once a week.  I get meat and meat by-product (milk, cheese, etc) burn out quite often and am trying to reduce my consumption to a couple of meals a week. I’m currently researching how to get my daily dose of calcium through non-dairy, non-animal, non-pill sources.

I’m also going to have homemade, vegan soup at least once a week.  I get meat and meat by-product (milk, cheese, etc) burn out quite often and am trying to reduce my consumption to a couple of meals a week. Having a vegan soup, with beans, certain grains, will help with protein consumption.  I’m currently researching how to get my daily dose of calcium through non-dairy, non-animal, non-pill sources.

As for exercise, I was doing a little something each day.  Now I have a set routine.  I bike or walk 5 times a week for an hour.  I do yoga 3 times a week (huge fan of Ashtanga b/c I like routine).  It’s great for flexibility and balance.  I also do other strength training exercises twice a week.  I take the stairs instead of the elevator.  I park further away from the doors when shopping or at the doctor.  I also walk to the store.  I make healthier purchases that way because I buy what I can carry.

Leave a Reply

